Huntington Folk Festival – Heckscher Park – Headliner: Loudon Wainwright III (opener – Lucy Wainwright Roche). The free festival @ Huntington’s Heckscher Park extends from 11 a.m. until late evening.

Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter Loudon Wainwright III headlines the 14th Annual Huntington Folk Festival on Saturday, July 27, at Heckscher Park, located off Main Street (Route 25A) and Prime Avenue, in Huntington Village. Opening for Wainwright on the park’s [Harry] Chapin Rainbow Stage that evening will be his daughter, Lucy Wainwright Roche. Extending from 11 a.m. to 10:30 p.m., with a dinner break from 6-8 p.m., the free event – co-presented by the Folk Music Society of Huntington and the Huntington Arts Council – is part of the 54th Huntington Summer Arts Festival.

Few songwriters have laid out their lives in song as graphically as Loudon Wainwright III, a 2010 Grammy Award-winner (Best Traditional Folk Album) for High Wide & Handsome: The Charlie Poole Project (with two previous Grammy nominations for I’m Alright in 1985 and More Love Songs in 1986). The singer-songwriter, humorist and actor is, perhaps, best known for his 1972 novelty song “Dead Skunk (in the Middle of the Road).” Maintains Stephen Holden of The New York Times: “Mr. Wainwright has proved to be far and away the most candid diarist among the singer-songwriters who … brought confessional poetry into popular song…”

Prior to the evening concert, Michael Kornfeld, president of the Folk Music Society of Huntington and editor & publisher of AcousticMusicScene.com, will host a series of song swaps from 12-6 p.m. These will take place near a canopy tent on the upper lawn area overlooking the stage and will feature more than 30 artists/acts from half-a-dozen states and a Canadian province. Unlike the unplugged showcases of previous years, these will be amplified. The day’s musical festivities begin with an open mic-song circle at 11 a.m.

Among the artists who will showcase their talents during the afternoon are Lisa Bastoni, Belle of the Fall, Melanie Brulée, Christian Diana, Roger Street Friedman, Genevieve, Sharon Goldman, Loretta Hagen, Marion Halliday, Joe Iadanza, Susan Kane, Judy Kass, Terry Kitchen, Scott Krokoff, Mara Levine, The Levins, Lipkin & Hitt, Annie Mark, Catherine Miles & Jay Mafale, Kate Mills, Lois Morton, Grace Morrison, Claudia Nygaard, Siobhan O’Brien, Anne O’Rourke, Nico Padden, D.B. Rielly, Eugene Ruffolo, Hank Stone, Jonathan Tea, and Toby Tobias.

The complete festival schedule appears below:

11:00 Open Mic – Song Circle
12:00 LI Guys of Note: Roger Street Friedman, Scott Krokoff, Toby Tobias
12:30 Emerging Talents: Genevieve, Marion Halliday, Kate Mills, Anne O’Rourke
1:30 A Musical Mix: Christian Diana, Annie Mark, Lois Morton
2:00 NJ Songsters: Sharon Goldman, Loretta Hagen, Jonathan Tea
2:30 Terry Kitchen, Mara Levine, Eugene Ruffolo
3:00 Kerrville New Folk Winners 2019: Lisa Bastoni, D.B. Rielly
3:30 Tribes Hill – Hudson Valley Songsters: Susan Kane, Judy Kass, Lipkin & Hitt
4:00 A Trio of Duos: Belle of the Fall, The Levins, Catherine Miles & Jay Mafale
4:30 Women of Note: Melanie Brulée, Grace Morrison, Claudia Nygaard, Siobhan O’Brien
5:30 FMSH Members Song Swap: Joe Iadanza, Nico Padden, Hank Stone
6:00 Dinner Break
8:00 Lucy Wainwright Roche
8:30 Loudon Wainwright III

Festivalgoers are advised to bring lawn chairs and blankets and a picnic supper (or they can walk into Huntington Village and enjoy a meal at one of its many restaurants).

The Huntington Folk Festival is part of an extended folk and Americana weekend at Heckscher Park. Long Island talent will be spotlighted on Thursday night, July 25, with a shared bill featuring folk-harmony trio Gathering Time and singer-songwriter Christie Sweeney. On Friday night, July 26, the Crys Mathews Trio will grace the stage. Although both concerts are set for 8 p.m., Kornfeld will conduct a 7:15 p.m. special on-stage interview-conversation with Matthews, the grand-prize winner in the 2017 NewSong Music Performance & Songwriting Competition. Crystal Bowersox – a rising star whose influences span across folk-pop, classic rock, soul, blues and country – closes out the weekend on Sunday night.

The Huntington Summer Arts Festival is produced by the Town of Huntington, presented by the Huntington Arts Council, and sponsored in part by the New York State Council for the Arts, the County of Suffolk and Canon U.S.A.

Here are links for the websites of the participating artists:

Roger Street Friedman www.rogerstreetfriedman.com
Scott Krokoff www.scottkrokoff.com
Toby Tobias www.tobytoby.com
Genevieve www.genevieve-music.com
Marion Halliday www.marionhalliday.com
Kate Mills www.katemillsmusic.com
Anne O’Rourke www.anneorourkemusic.com
Christian Diana www.christiandiana.bandcamp.com
Annie Mark
Lois Morton www.loismorton.com
Sharon Goldman www.sharongldmanmusic.com
Loretta Hagen www.lorettahagen.com
Jonathan Tea www.jonathantea.com
Terry Kitchen www.terrykitchen.com
Mara Levine www.maralevine.com
Eugene Ruffolo www.eugeneruffolo.com
Lisa Bastoni www.lisabastoni.com
D.B. Rielly www.dbrielly.com
Susan Kane www.susankane.com
Judy Kass www.judykass.com
Lipkin & Hitt www.lipkinandhitt.com
Belle of the Fall www.belleofthefall.com
The Levins www.thelevinsmusic.com
Catherine Miles & Jay Mafale www.milesandmafale.com
Melanie Brulée www.melaniebrulee.com
Grace Morison www.gracemorrison.com
Claudia Nygaard www.claudiaygaard.com
Siobhan O’Brien www.siobhanobrien.com
Joe Iadanza www.joeiadanza.com
Nico Padden www.nicopadden.com
Hank Stone www.hankstone.net
Lucy Wainwright Roche www.lucywainwrightroche.com
Loudon Wainwright III www.lw3.com

Location: Heckscher Park - Chapin Rainbow Stage

For parking nearest to Heckscher Park:
The Heckscher Museum is on the park grounds, and a small lot adjacent to it is reserved for Handicapped parking. Parking is permitted along the neighboring streets; do not block driveways. Immediately north of the park is a nose-in parking “lot” along Madison St., adjacent to the park. The Huntington Town Hall is across Rte. 25A from the park on the south side. There is a large parking lot behind Town Hall.

Additional Parking around Huntington
There are 3 Municipal Parking Lots in the Village of Huntington. The lot closest to Heckscher Park is located south of Rte 25A (Main St.) and is entered a half block east of the intersection of 25A and New York Ave. (Rte 110). It can also be entered on Elm Street. A second large lot is south of Main St. between Green and New Streets. It is entered by turning south off Rte 25A (Main St.) onto New St.; – the lot is on the right. The third large lot is located north of Main St. on Gerard St. (also named Lt. General Frank Libuti Way) It can be accessed from Gerard St. or by turning north off Rte 25A (Main St.) onto Clinton Ave., — after the corner buildings there are lot entries to the left and the right. Also note that meters on the village streets are in effect weekdays until 7 pm only, and that bank lots that are not chained off are available for parking when the bank is closed at night.